Categories
Uncategorized

Interview with Angie Thompson!

Another favorite interview … Really, they are ALL favorites!

How has writing helped you grow in your walk with God? Has it shown you more about Him?
Definitely! I feel like God has used my writing to deepen a lot of lessons He’s taught me over the years—not necessarily things I didn’t know before, but sometimes when I see it on the page it just hits me in a really powerful way. And any time I hear that He’s used one of my stories to help or bless someone else, I’m just so thankful that He would choose to use my words for His glory!

If you lost your memory do you think you would still write?
I don’t think I could help it! I’ve been making up stories since I was able to talk, so I’m sure I’d start writing again as soon as a new idea tugged on my heart. It’d be interesting to see how long I waited before starting to publish them, though, if I didn’t remember I’d already done it before!

Do you prefer writing series or stand alones, is it easier to write a series or a stand alone, does one or the other make you more attached to characters?
So far, I’ve written mostly stand-alones, although I did recently publish my first sequel and I have a few ideas both to continue that series and for other series in the future. I don’t know that I’m more or less attached to characters in one or the other, although it is fun to spend more time with characters I already love. On the other hand, I feel like the characters in a series just never get a break, which may be why I gravitate toward stand-alones. Call me a softie, but once my characters get through the mess that inspired their story in the first place, I kind of just want to leave them to their happy ending. 😉

Of your published books which is your favorite? And why/what makes it your favorite?
You know you’re not supposed to ask that, right? But if I had to pick one, it would probably be Bridgers. The way it came together was so obviously a God thing, and it’s got such a powerful message, and it was the one that finally gave me the nudge I needed to publish, so it’s very, very special to me.

What was the first story you completed?
Completed as in finished writing vs. actually polished and published? To the best of my memory, it was a story about four teenage friends getting snowed-in together with one of their families, but the plot was…lacking. My family loved it, though. 😉

Out of all your characters which is your least favorite?
Peyton Emeric from Bridgers, hands down. The more I wrote him, the madder he made me. I don’t think it’s his arrogance that gets to me as much as the fact that he’s such a manipulator. Also, he’s not very nice to some of my very favorite people, so yeah. 😛

What is your favorite flavor of coffee or tea when you are writing?

*ducks* I don’t drink either coffee or tea, and I usually don’t drink or eat while I’m writing. Next question?


Angie’s books are so good, wholesome, and wonderful for all ages, check out her page and grab a copy of Bridgers for the book-loving teen in your life!

By Abigail Kay Harris

Abigail Kay Harris is a daughter of the King with a personal degree in book-nerdiness. A sister to seven, her passionate love of the written word and deeper meanings hidden in normal things leads her to spend her time reading, writing, using sarcasm, and defining obscure words.

Leave a comment